After working 15 weeks total over the past four-and-a-half months, it appears I am finally back in my house for more than just a few days at a time! The feeling of settled-ness is pretty nice, but it won’t be long before I’m itching to get in a car, plane, and/or helicopter and wander the great Canadian wilderness again.

Attn: Summer ’11 – please get here ASAP!

School’s been on now for a week, and while my courseload is relatively light here in my last year, I’ve been expending a lot of energy trying to find a suitable thesis project to cap off my undergraduate career. With the huge help of my advisor, I think I may have finally stumbled across the ideal opportunity: a structural analysis of an historic Archean lode-gold showing. Fingers crossed!

In other news, now that I’m back, I’m hoping to continue to write on all things geological. A brief scan of the interweb highlights my competition with the proliferation of geology blogs, but no matter. Even though the majority are of a much higher quality than mine,  I will continue to feature posts on my interests and experiences. I am less interested in competition than I am in writing about, and enjoying the great field of the Earth sciences!

